The Preakness

May 18

First held in 1873, the Preakness Stakes is an annual horse race held every year on the third Saturday in the month of May. The 144the running of the Preakness will take place on May 18. The Preakness is the second leg of the horse racing Triple Crown. The Kentucky Derby, held on the first Saturday of May, is the second leg and the Belmont Stakes, held on the first Saturday of June, is the third and final leg. In hopes of winning the Triple Crown, the winning horse from the Kentucky Derby almost always races in the Preakness.

The annual attendance is ranked second in North America behind the Kentucky Derby and has become a trademark on America’s horse racing calendar.